Against these walls

arceus
2 min readJul 1, 2016

--

Headaches; ones greatest annoyance

“I have this incessant pester in my brain, more like in my mind, which keeps burrowing deeper and deeper like a lizard trying to find safe haven during a nuclear detonation..” The mysterious voice said.

“I don’t know why these hindrances seem to split my brain, more like my mind into several pieces, reducing critical thinking to close to zero, which leads to a regression of sorts, perhaps to a primal, somewhat brutish and bizarre mannerism..” The mysterious voice continued, raspy & coarse as though whomever was at its last breath.

“It’s okay though, the headaches don’t last, unless they’re as a result of straining the nerve endings in my eye, which is a common thing for me, that’s when they prevail..” The voice continues, scanning, probing and prodding, almost like whomever is within the shadows, is trying to distract themselves from reality.

“Supposedly, these things drive you mad, but who’s to truly determine who goes insane and who isn’t going insane or who is borderline suffering from said insanity, better yet, is the supposedly insane person really insane or just too sane to understand the obscurity of others around him?” The prodding continues.

At this juncture there seems to be a reveal to this inquisitive voice. As the blinding fluorescent lights come on, we‘re met with a two way mirror and behind it, motionless silhouettes glare through the glass, patiently waiting for the person behind the other side to make a move, but there were none, just a figure curled up against the wall.

He then said to them, “who do you think is truly the insane one, me in this room mumbling about my headaches? Or all of you monitoring me from the other side of this mirror. Do you believe that I cannot feel you watching me?” He began to cackle and said “This is only the beginning” and continued laughing until his cell was completely doused in sleeping gas and what was once dastardly laughs, ceased and turned to empty nothing’s.

Fin¿

--

--

arceus

nothing is or nothing ever was, something is or something never will be. https://www.behance.net/widownaut